Wednesday, May 14, 2008

1955 Warsaw Pact Signed

Officially named the Warsaw Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance (Russian: Договор о дружбе, сотрудничестве и взаимной помощи Translit.: Dogovor o druzhbe, sotrudnichestve i vzaimnoy pomoshchi), the Warsaw Pact was an organization of communist states in Central and Eastern Europe. It was established on 14 May 1955 in Warsaw, Poland. The treaty was signed in Warsaw on May 14, 1955 and official copies were made in Russian, Polish, Czech and German. This treaty was in response to the NATO treaty, in that there was a political Consultative Committee, followed by a civilian secretary general, while down the chain of command there was a military commander in chief and a combined staff, although the similarities between the two international organizations ended there.

Founding members:

* Albania (left in 1961)
* Bulgaria
* Czechoslovakia
* Hungary
* Poland
* Romania
* Soviet Union

Joined later:

* East Germany (in 1956)

No comments: