Thursday, May 15, 2008

1869 The National Woman Suffrage Association founded

The National Woman Suffrage Association (NWSA) was formed on May 15, 1869 in New York in response to a split in the American Equal Rights Association over the Fifteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. Its founders, who opposed the Fifteenth Amendment unless it included the vote for women, were Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton. Membership was open to women only. NWSA worked to secure women's enfranchisement through a federal constitutional amendment. Its rival from the split, the American Woman Suffrage Association (AWSA), believed success could be more easily achieved through state-by-state campaigns. In 1890 NWSA and AWSA merged to form the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA).

No comments: